top of page

Jack Minker

Lecture subjects

I have written a book on my efforts for Soviet Jewry. Scientific Freedom and Human Rights: Scientist of Freedom during the Cold War. I have a copy of the book in digital form. I can lecture on the support I gave to Soviet Jews. Some chapters of the book of interest are: Dr. Alexander Lerner, Dr. Andrei Sakharov, Avital and Natan Shcharansky and others.

Languages English

Based in: Bethesda, Maryland

*Available online

Lecture options

Lecture

Discussion / Q&A

Online lecture / Q&A

Contact minker@cs.umd.edu

Wikipedia

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jack_Minker

Biography

I am Vice Chair Computer Science of the Committee of Concerned Scientists since the start of the organization.I was Vice chair of Computer Science for Human Rights of the Association for Computing Machinery (AM) for many years. I published articles in the Communications of the ACM on a list of computer personnel whose human rights were violated.I was on the Board of the Washington Committee Jewish Organization.I worked with the Physicists in California and organized a group of scientists to visit the Soviet Embassy and spoke to them on behalf of Andrei Sakharov and his wife who were sent to Gorky.

Related posts
Related posts
bottom of page